6 baseball players honored

Saturday, June 4, 2016

Six members of the league champion Fort Scott High School baseball team were picked by Southeast Kansas League coaches for spots on the All-SEK Baseball Team, released earlier this week.

League policy prohibited the release of the teams until the last SEK school completed postseason play. Chanute was the league's lone representative to a State Tournament, qualifying in Class 4A-Division I where the Blue Comets lost in the first round to Paola.

Kaleb DeLaTorre, Grant Goldston, Kieran Houlihan and Carter Young were named to the First Team. Also voted in were Chanute's Kenton Richards, Kyler Manbeck and Josh Miller; Pittsburg's Elijah Harris and Noah Vaughn; Independence's Evan Sprague and Josh Pralle; Parsons' Brady Colvin; Labette County's Klein Ryan; and Coffeyville's Adam Rutherford.

Taylor Engstrom and Jarret Lyon were Fort Scott's selections to the Second Team. Also honored were Chanute's Grant McMillen and Jake Fiscus; Pittsburg's Jake Webb and Chase Curtis; Indy's Luc Dunn and Dalson Hamlin; Parsons' Tristan Smith and Dylan Wisdom; and LC's Pryce Anderson.

Fort Scott won its fourth consecutive league championship this season, going 10-2 in the SEK and 14-8 overall. The Tigers are 39-7 in league play during that span.