Six receive All-KJCCC baseball honors

Friday, May 27, 2016

Six members of Fort Scott Community College's baseball team received All-Jayhawk Conference-Eastern Division honors in voting conducted by conference coaches last week.

Every Greyhound honored is a sophomore. Outfielder Jedd Andrade was named to the First Team. Catcher Andrew Tanous was voted to the Second Team and second baseman Jacob Biller, third baseman Nick Banman and pitchers Ryan McCullough and Matt Hicks were named to the Honorable Mention list.

In addition, Andrade was a Second Team pick for the All-Region VI Team, which combines both Jayhawk Conference divisions. Andrew Tanous was given a Golden Glove award for his defensive work at catcher.

Former Fort Scott High School pitcher Mason Knopp, a freshman at Neosho County, was named First Team All-Conference and Second Team All-Region.

Freshman Brylie Ware of Neosho County was named both the division and the region's Most Valuable Player and the Freshman of the Year in the Eastern Division. Steve Murry of division champion Neosho County was named division Coach of the Year. Carson LaRue of Cowley was division Pitcher of the Year. Shortstop Abdiel Alicea of Region VI champion Cowley was named the region's Defensive Player of the Year.