Fort Scott U-16s conclude season

Thursday, July 25, 2013
Members of the Fort Scott u16s who won the Paola tournament championship are, from left front row, Isaac Thurston, Dalton Barnes, Ajele Smith, Wyatt Tourtillott, Grant Hill, Jeremy Smith, back row, Jason Pickert (coach), Drew Martin, Ryan Pickert, Austin Cook, Tommy Avery, Jordan Phillips, and Paul Martin (coach). Not pictured are team members Adam Deloney, Lucas Gillen and Hayes Howser. (Submitted photo)

Three consecutive victories propelled the Fort Scott U-16 baseball traveling squad to the championship of the recently completed Paola tournament.

The offense set a blistering pace, producing 42 runs over the course of the event. The victors also got three complete games on the mound.

Fort Scott opened the tourney with a 14-7 victory over Leavenworth, which ended after five innings due to a time limit.

Tommy Avery went the distance on the mound for the winners, pitching all five innings. He had plenty of offensive support as 10 different players contributed.

Isaac Thurston rapped out two singles, added a walk, and scored twice. Ajele Smith doubled, was hit by a pitch, and scored twice.

Drew Martin also doubled and scored, as did Avery. Grant Hill had the team's fourth double and was hit by a pitch.

Dalton Barnes scored and walked twice. Jordan Phillips scored and walked.

Jeremy Smith contributed a single, a walk and a run. Austin Cook added a single, scored twice, and was hit by a pitch.

Wyatt Tourtillott finished with three runs on three walks.

Things tightened up for the Fort Scott team in the second game, as the U-16s edged the host Paola squad, 9-7, in seven innings.

Dalton Barnes pitched all seven innings and got the win. His support came from multiple players again as Fort Scott put together a balanced offense.

Isaac Thurston collected a single, a double, and scored twice.

Ajele Smith added two singles, scored three times and was hit by a pitch.

Drew Martin added a run and walk. Tommy Avery collected two singles to go with a triple, and two runs.

Ryan Picker singled and scored, Dalton Barnes chipped in with two walks and Austin Cook netted a single.

In the championship game, the Fort Scott bats stayed hot and the winners outslugged Burlington 19-10 in five innings, again ending due to a time limit.

Isaac Thurston pitched all five innings and got the win.

Everyone contributed in the attack.

Isaac Thurston produced two singles and three runs.

Ajele Smith wound up with a single, a double, a walk and scored three times.

Drew Martin also scored three times, collecting a single and a walk.

Tommy Avery drew three walks and scored a run, as did Ryan Pickert.

Grant Hill chipped in with a single and a run.

Dalton Barnes produced three singles and two runs.

Jeremy Smith put together a three single night, adding a walk and scoring three times.

Wyatt Tourtillott netted a single. Jordan Phillips was hit twice by a pitch and crossed twice.

Those efforts wrapped up the season for the team, as Fort Scott finished with a pair of tournament titles and an 8-5 overall record.