Uniontown student among those awarded FFA scholarships

Friday, June 3, 2011

Orscheln Farm & Home Stores awarded eight $1,000 scholarships to FFA members from across the state at the 83rd Kansas FFA Convention.

The Orscheln Farm & Home Stores scholarships are awarded to graduating high school seniors of Kansas who plan to attend a four or a two-year program with the intention of transferring to a university or college majoring in agriculture in the state of Kansas. Students who are awarded the scholarship are four-year members of the Kansas FFA Association and have a keen interest in the family farm and its importance to society, a news release said.

Recipients demonstrate outstanding leadership, community service, exhibit good character and moral traits, and have excelled scholastically during high school.

This year's recipients are: Kurtis Clawson, Satanta; Keelie Curran, Girard; Mckenzie Gee, Stafford; Nicholaus Herrmann, Holcomb; Chishom Miller, Mission Valley; Jordan Pieschl, Brookville; Kaden Roush, Smith Center; and Katelyn Vincent, Uniontown.

The Kansas FFA Association is a part of the National FFA Organization, a national youth organization of 506,199 student members preparing for leadership and careers in the science, business and technology of agriculture with 7,429 local chapters in all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. FFA's mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. Visit www.ksffa.org for more information.