Uniontown to host volleyball Sub-State

Saturday, September 29, 2018

Volleyball Sub-State hosts for classes 3A on down were announced by the Kansas State High School Activities Association on Friday. Uniontown has been chosen to host a Class 2A Sub-State on Saturday, Oct. 20.

The eight-team Sub-State will be played on one court and will begin at 1 p.m. Other teams in addition to Uniontown are Northeast, Southeast, Howard-West Elk, Humboldt, Colgan and Yates Center.

Pleasanton is also hosting a Sub-State using two courts. Jayhawk-Linn will be the only other Three Rivers League team there. The TRL’s five Class 1A schools will play in a Regional at Marmaton Valley on Tuesday, Oct. 16. They are Altoona-Midway, Chetopa, Crest, Marmaton Valley and St. Paul. They will be joined by Sedan and Southern Coffey County. Winners and runners-up will advance to Sub-State at Rosalia-Flinthills on Oct. 20. Winners and runners-up from Regionals at Caldwell, Moundridge and Olpe will also be at this Sub-State, broken up into two tournaments of four teams each.

Classes 6A, 5A and 4A will also have Sub-States on October 20 but the fields will not be determined until seeding meetings are held earlier in that week. The state is split in half geographically into two halves of 18 schools (now that each of those classes have 36 schools instead of 32 or 64). There will be two 5-team tournaments and two 4-team tournaments on each side of the state. Hosts will be the top four seeds on each side.