Morrow named East Co-MVP

Friday, May 18, 2018

Fort Scott Community College sophomore Andrew Morrow was named one of the Co-Most Valuable Players of the Jayhawk Conference-Eastern Division baseball season earlier this week.

Morrow, who hit .424 with 17 home runs and 73 runs batted in, was named along with Cowley outfielder Alex Peterson, who was also named the divisionís Freshman of the Year.

Morrow was fifth in the conference (both divisions) in average, tied for fourth in homers and seventh in RBIs. He was also third in slugging percentage (.808) and fourth in on-base percentage (.513).

Morrow was one of five Greyhounds who were named to the All-KJCCC East First Team. Also honored were sophomore shortstop Sean Moore (.335, 10 HR, 46 RBI), sophomore closer Kobie Schmitt (10 saves, 43 strikeouts to only 5 walks), freshman starting pitcher Wyatt Folsom (9-2, 17 walks to 55 strikeout), and sophomore utility player Collin Fraley who batted .387 as a designated hitter/outfielder and struck out 53 batters as a relief pitcher.

On the Second Team is freshman outfielder Owen Wilson (.364, 7 HR, 47 RBI, 13 stolen bases). Honorable Mention status was granted to Ben Kiefer, Quinn Waterbury, Cole Solomon and Ben McConnell.

Also on the Second Team was Neosho County third baseman Kaleb DeLaTorre, a graduate of Fort Scott High School, who hit .360 with 11 homers and 78 RBI, the last number ranking eighth in the conference.

Morrow and Moore were also named to the All-Region VI First Team and Folsom was chosen for the Second Team.