City commission reorganizes during first meeting of the year

Tuesday, January 2, 2018
City Clerk Diane Clay, from left, swears in commissioners Robert Nichols, Cheryl Adamson and JoLynne Mitchell during Tuesday night’s commission meeting. Nichols and Mitchell were reelected during the November election and Adamson was elected to fill a seat previously held by Jim Adams, who chose not to run for reelection.
Jason E. Silvers

The Fort Scott City Commission began 2018 with a new face and its annual reorganization process.

During a brief meeting Tuesday night, the first one of the new year, commissioners reorganized and also welcomed new commissioner Cheryl Adamson, who won a seat on the commission with 451 votes in the November election. Adamson was elected to a two-year term.

City Clerk Diane Clay swore in Adamson, along with commissioners JoLynne Mitchell and Robert Nichols, who won the other two open spots on the board with 565 votes and 650 votes, respectively. Mitchell and Nichols, who were the incumbent candidates, will serve four-year terms.

After the commissioners were sworn in, the commission then re-elected Mitchell to another stint as mayor, Commissioner Cindy Bartelsmeyer as commission president, Nichols as representative on the Bourbon County Economic Development Council, Inc., and Adamson as delegate for the Fort Scott Housing Authority.

Adamson thanked commissioners and city staff for welcoming her to the panel. During the commission comments portion of the meeting, Adamson said she did not have any remarks at this time, “but maybe next meeting.”

Mitchell also thanked former commissioner Jim Adams, who did not file for re-election, for his several years of service to the city. Mitchell presented a certificate of recognition for Adams, who was not present at the meeting.

In his report to the commission, City Manager Dave Martin said with the completion of 2017, city leaders are now “getting ready for 2018.”

Martin said several topics are on the city’s slate for the new year, including the Fort Scott Municipal Airport expansion, continued economic development and housing.

“We also have to look at ways to reduce taxes,” he said. “It was nice to take a break and celebrate but now we’ve got to get to work.”

Other business

• The commission approved the re-appointment of Fred Stoughton and the new appointment of Thaine Geiger to the Fort Scott Plumbing Board. Stoughton and Geiger, both local plumbers, will serve three-year terms.

Clay said she sent out a request for letters of interest for open seats on the board. Geiger’s appointment is due to the Oct. 27 death of Ed French, who had served on the plumbing board for several years.

• The commission approved the re-appointment of the following members to the Fort Scott Electrical Board: Max Fanning, Tony French, Larry Karleskint, J.R. Stewart, Jim Brown and Jack Karleskint.

All of the members will serve three-year terms.

• Commissioners approved the consent agenda, which included an appropriation ordinance totaling $407,293; a resolution designating The Fort Scott Tribune as the official city newspaper; a resolution designating City State Bank, UMB Bank, Landmark National Bank, the Liberty Savings Association and Union State Bank, all of Fort Scott, and the Kansas Municipal Investment Pool of Topeka, as official depositories of public funds of the city.

The agenda also included a certificate of appropriateness for proposed changes to the building and signage at 2 N. Main St. The building is being restored to house Fort Scott Family Dental. The changes were approved by the Design Review Board in December.