Tiger, 'Hound players pick new schools

Friday, February 5, 2016
ters of intent to play football at Butler Community College in El Dorado Wednesday morning in the FSHS Media Center. With Marcus as he signed were (Clockwise from upper left) his uncle Trent, FSHS head coach Bob Campbell, grandfather Clyde Stepps, father Pechone Stepps and grandmother Marion Stepps. (Scott Nuzum/Tribune)

Wednesday was the first day that high school football players were allowed to sign with the colleges of their choice and the first day junior college players could sign with their new four-year schools.

Two Fort Scott High players signed to play at Butler Community College in El Dorado. Running back/defensive back Marcus Stepps and lineman Austin Cook both signed to play for the Grizzlies, a Jayhawk Conference and national power.

Fort Scott Community College signed several high school athletes and also saw many of its players sign with four-year schools. Among the Greyhound players moving on, according to an FSCC press release were:

With Austin as he signed were (clockwise from upper left) FSHS assistant coach Bo Graham, Campbell, FSHS assistant coach Josh Regan, and his parents, Karla and Phil. (Scott Nuzum/Tribune)

* Alexis Johnson, defensive lineman, Tennessee,

* Barry Higdon, cornerback, Central Oklahoma,

* Blayke Lindenman, kicker, North Carolina Central,

Among those Fort Scott Community College players signing letters of intent with four-year schools Wednesday were (from left) kicker Blayke Lindenman with North Carolina Central, offensive lineman Kris Lingo with Prairie View A&M, and wide receiver Ron'Quavion Tarver with Utah State. (Submitted photo/FSCC)

* Derek Jones, running back, Briarcliffe College,

* Devin Taylor, running back, Western Kentucky,

* Gabriel Lloyd, linebacker, Texas State,

* Jamain Lang, receiver, Benedictine,

* James Grizzle, defensive lineman, Southwest Oklahoma State,

* Keenan Savage, linebacker, Missouri Baptist,

* Koron Crump, defensive lineman, Arizona State,

* Kris Lingo, offensive lineman, Prairie View A&M,

* Landon James-Wilson, cornerback, Arkansas State,

* Malik Kearse, cornerback, Oklahoma State,

* Mike Pierre, cornerback, Graceland,

* Quinn Trombly, offensive lineman, West Texas A&M,

* Rashade Chester, defensive lineman, Washburn,

* Ron'Quavion Tarver, lineman, Utah State,

* Sean Thomas, defensive lineman, Baker,

* Walvenski (Wally) Aime, defensive lineman, Florida State.

Only four Kansas high-school players were known to have signed with FSCC at press time: Kameron Barnes, safety, Olathe East; T.J. Boatwright, defensive end, DeSoto; Maleak Puritty, receiver/defensive back, Wichita Kapaun Mount Carmel; and Michael queen, defensive lineman, Olathe East. This was just a preliminary list gleaned from Sports in Kansas' website and there may be additional signings to come.

The FSCC football team's Twitter feed (@fortscottfball) listed at least 23 players that had signed, including some of the ones already mentioned.