Local golfers receive league, area honors

Saturday, October 17, 2015

State Tournaments will be held Monday with one Fort Scott golfer, Camiren Defebaugh, and four Uniontown golfers playing in their respective tournaments. Class 4A State will be held in Hays while Class 3-2-1A action will take place in Cheney.

Although the Southeast Kansas League team and individual champions were determined last week after the conclusion of Fort Scott's home tournament, the official standings were released earlier this week.

There were only three teams able to field a full team for all six tournaments. Pittsburg won its first SEK girls' golf title with a six-tournament total of 1,847 strokes. Labette County was second at 1,885 and Chanute finished third with 1,953.

Coffeyville senior Anna Pool won her fourth SEK individual title becoming the first golf player, male or female, to accomplish the feat. She shot 336 over the six tournaments, beating out runner-up Erica Gartner of Labette County by 49 strokes.

The top 10 finishers in SEK play were awarded First Team All-league status. Defebaugh made the First Team by finishing in ninth place. Defebaugh was outside the top 10 until the Fort Scott tourney, when her 51 allowed her to pass Coffeyville's Kendall Blaich, who shot 57 that day.

The SE-KAN Golf awards were also released earlier this week. SE-KAN was started by FSHS head coach Karen Curran and her husband, Girard head coach Steve Curran, before the SEK began league play for the 2009 season. Before then, none of the leagues in Southeast Kansas sponsored girls' golf because each of them did have enough schools playing. SE-KAN was conceived as a way to allow girls' golfers around the area to receive recognition for their play.

Pool was also the SE-KAN champion, shooting 295 in the tournaments designated for the award.

Like the SEK, the top 10 finishers in SE-KAN standings receive First Team honors. Those who finished in 11th through 15th places received SE-KAN Honorable Mention. Defebaugh finished 15th, scoring 397 in the tournaments included for SE-KAN totals.

Uniontown had two players who played in enough tournaments to be eligible for any awards. Megan Smith was 34th with her score of 577. Laryn Thompson was 39th at 503.

Fort Scott senior Maddie McCoy also was eligible for SE-KAN honors, even though she missed a few tournaments when volleyball conflicted with the golf schedule. She finished 40th with her total of 506.

Defebaugh will be playing in Class 4A State Monday. She was profiled in Friday's edition of the Tribune. Smith and Thompson are two of the four Eagles who will be playing in the Class 3-2-1A State tourney on Monday. Draven George and Kaylyn Crystal are also going after the four qualified from their home Regional Monday as one of the best five scorers from teams that did not finish in the top three in team standings. Because the golfers advanced to State as individuals, Uniontown can not play for a place in team standings.