[Masthead] Fair ~ 56°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 53°F
Friday, Oct. 21, 2016

Four earn soccer honors; two named All-SEK volleyball

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Four members of Fort Scott High School's soccer team received All-Southeast Kansas League honors recently as did two members of the Tiger volleyball team.

It is league policy not to release All-League teams until each school's post-season run in that sports is complete. For that reason, the All-SEK football team will not be announced until Coffeyville is eliminated.

Three Tigers were to the First Team on the All-SEK soccer list. Seniors Marcus Brennan and Tyler Endicott were unanimous selections as were Independence's Lane Schicke, Collin Cushing and Caleb Bromley and Pittsburg's Danilo Pinheiro and Sullivan Lauderdale. Also named to the First Team were Indy's Drake King, Pittsburg's Riki Sanchez and Coffeyville's Edgar Cuevas.

Fort Scott goalkeeper Clayton Hixon, who missed the last third of his senior season after suffering a broken leg, was named to the Second Team. Joining him are Independence's Josh Hilger, Matthew Ballew and Conagher Welch, Pittsburg's Jose Ayala, Keaton Wilbur and Moira Myers, and Coffeyville's Nick Becker, Ales Solis, Juan Gaspar and Chris Frazier.

Fort Scott sophomore Ashley Cook was one of four players named to the First Team by unanimous vote and is the only one of the eight picks who is a sophomore. Also earning unanimous selection were Chanute's Mallory Flowers and Sierra Masoner and Pittsburg's Mercedes Vogel. Rounding out the First Team were Chanute's Haley Taylor and Katy Batten, Independence's Amanda Freeman and Parsons' Auriana Jackson.

Senior Ericah Shoemaker was Fort Scott's pick on the Second Team. She is joined by Chanute's Katie Martin, Pittsburg's Bethanne Elliott and Taylor Muff, Labette County's Sami Cruse and Aubri Kimbrough, and Independence's Lauren Rinck. Coffeyville did not have anyone selected.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: