[Masthead] Fog ~ 41°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 45°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

11 Greyhound gridders named All-KJCC

Saturday, November 16, 2013

Fort Scott sophomore wide receiver Jared Dangerfield was one of 11 Greyhounds named to either the first team, second team or honorable mention list by the Kansas Jayhawk Community College conference. Ten of the chosen players were offensive.
(Tribune file photo)
With an offense that led the NJCAA Region VI in total offense and rushing offense, it's no surprise that Fort Scott Community College's football team landed several members of that offensive unit on the All-Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference First Team.

The 'Hounds received six spots on the First Team, two more on the Second Team and four on the Honorable Mention list. Conference and Region VI champion Butler had eight members named to the First Team.

Running back JoNathan Alford, guard Kareem Are, and receivers Chevelle Buie and Jared Dangerfield represent Fort Scott on the First Team Offense. Buie also was a First-Team selection as a return specialist.

Alford, a 6-foot, 21-pound freshman from Brunswick, Ga., led the conference in rushing yards per game (161.1), total rushing yards (1,289), and rushing attempts (263). Alford's 263 carries also led NJCAA, while his yardage output was the most by a Fort Scott Greyhound freshman in the last seven seasons.

Are, a 6'6" 320-pound sophomore from Elmont, N.Y, dominated opposing team's defensive linemen with clear-out blocks and several pancakes helping the Greyhounds' ground attack. Are is being recruited heavily by several NCAA Division I colleges including BCS powerhouse Florida State and Nebraska.

Buie and Dangerfield were a 1-2 punch in the Greyhounds' passing attack and quarterback Jason Stewart. Buie, a 5' 10", 175-pound pound sophomore speedster out of Georgia, hauled in 54 passes for 625 yards while Dangerfield hauled in 43 passes for 694 yards. Dangerfield, a 6' 3", 210-punder from from West Palm Beach, Fla., also scored eight touchdowns in his sophomore campaign.

The Greyhound offense finished the season with 1,940 yards passing and 1,921 yards on the ground.

The Greyhounds' "Dark Side" defensive unit saw one player, defensive lineman Demetrius Hill, collect First Team All-Conference honors.

Hill was a one-man wrecking machine on defense collecting 60 tackles with 14 coming behind the line of scrimmage. Hill also had six sacks, forced three fumbles and a 30-yard fumble return for a touchdown against Arkansas Baptist in his final game for the Fort. Hill is being recruited by Division I programs such as Minnesota, Auburn, and Baylor.

Second Team honorees are offensive linemen Spencer Gatewood and Byron Rich. Gatewood, a sophomore guard, was a catalyst in the Greyhound rushing attack while redshirt freshman Rich directed his offensive linemates from his center position.

Named Honorable Mention All-Conference were quarterback Stewart, fullback/tight end Walker Evans and offensive tackles Jordan Walker and Ben Luper.

Buie, Dangerfield, Alford, Rich, Are, and Hill were also members of the 2013 NJCAA All-Region VI Team.


Coach of the Year: Gary Thomas, Dodge City.

Offensive Player of the Year: Tyreis Thomas, Dodge City.

Defensive Player of the Year: Owen Williams, Butler.


Tight End: Steven Walker, Butler.

Wide Receiver: Chevelle Buie, Fort Scott; Jared Dangerfield, Fort Scott; Brandon Snell, Garden City.

Tackle: Luke Hayes, Butler; Marcos Guttieres, Dodge City; Dontavious Blair, Garden City.

Guard: Kareem Are, Fort Scott; Tyler Uselton, Butler.

Center: Mateo Kambui, Butler.

Quarterback: Brandon Bergeron, Highland.

Running back: Tyreis Thomas, Dodge City; JoNathan Alford, Fort Scott.

Fullback: Riley Oharah, Butler.

Defensive tackle: Terrell Cinkscales, Dodge City; Owen Williams, Butler.

Defensive end: Demetrius Hill, Fort Scott; Marquavious Lewis, Hutchinson; Jeremiah Ledbetter, Hutchinson.

Linebacker: Errol Clarke, Garden City; D'Vonta Derricot, Garden City; Richard Dorvilus, Independence.

Cornerback: Shattle Fenteng, Hutchinson; Danzel McDaniel, Dodge City.

Safety: Jalon Myers, Hutchinson; Branden Dozier, Butler.

Return specialist: Chevelle Buie, Fort Scott.

Punter: Ty Suggs, Butler.

Kicker: Tyler Peterson, Garden City.


Tight End: Brennan Boland, Highland.

Wide Receiver: Chris Murray, Hutchinson; DeVonte Robinson, Dodge City; Greg McKillion, Independence.

Tackle: Jeff Travillion, Highland; Quincy McKinney, Hutchinson; Michael Ivory, Coffeyville.

Guard: Jess Westmoreland, Hutchinson; Spencer Gatewood, Fort Scott.

Center: Byron Rich, Fort Scott.

Quarterback: Luke Barnes, Hutchinson.

Running back: Andre Allen, Coffeyville; Tyreek Hill, Garden City.

Fullback: Billy Teeters, Coffeyville.

Defensive tackle: James Peoples, Hutchinson; Dondre Chanet, Hutchinson.

Defensive end: Joe Keels, Highland; Gabe Luna, Butler.

Linebacker: Phillip Williamson, Butler; Brock Long, Hutchinson; Nick Cook, Butler.

Cornerback: Christian Goodlett, Hutchinson; Jamarcus Howard, Coffeyville.

Safety: Darrin Reddick, Butler; Mike Brown, Highland.

Return specialist: Tyreek hill, Garden City.

Punter: Luke Barnes, Hutchinson.

Kicker: Robert Rawlings, Butler.


Tight End: Sean McKissack, Independence.

Wide receiver: Durwin Jones, Highland; Michael Thomas, Dodge City; Tyreek Hill, Garden City; Trey Hallman, Butler; Mike Glatczak, Butler.

Tackle: Ben Luper, Fort Scott; Jordan Walker, Fort Scott; Kenneth Sellers, Coffeyville; Terrale Johnson, Hutchinson.

Guard: Avery Richard, Highland; A.J. Grady, Dodge City; Hayden Chandler, Coffeyville; Colby Hamel, Garden City.

Center: Eddie Gordon, Hutchinson.

Quarterback: Jason Stewart, Fort Scott; Hunter Vaughn, Butler.

Running back: Derick Keaton, Coffeyville; Chase Abbington, Hutchinson; Hunter Siebert, Independence; Ty Suggs, Butler.

Fullback: Taylan Ybarra, Hutchinson; Walker Evans, Fort Scott.

Defensive tackle: Marcus Smith, Highland; Glenn Antoine, Highland; Vinton Harris, Dodge City; Rashad Dillard, Coffeyville; Ralphael Bernard, Garden City; Deondre Elvoid, Garden City.

Linebacker: Brandon Lockwood, Highland; Taylor Schaffer, Highland; Logan Orso, Dodge City; Josh Williams, Dodge City; Tyler Hayes, Butler; Mike Shirk, Coffeyville.

Cornerback: Tim Hill, Garden City; Wonderful Terry, Garden City; Robert Daniels, Independence; Cody Brown, Independence.

Safety: Patrick Martin, Highland; Keegan Murphy, Hutchinson; Sam Green, Garden City; MaKail Grace, Garden City.

Return specialist: Darvell Harris, Dodge City.

Punter: Josh Muckenthaler, Independence.

Kicker: none selected.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: