Two seniors among girls' selections

Saturday, June 1, 2013

Two seniors were among the six Tigers selected to the All-Southeast Kansas League Softball Team by league coaches earlier in the week. Senior center fielder Hannah Tourtillott was one of Fort Scott High's four First Team picks while left fielder Shelby Maycumber was one of the two Honorable Mention players.

Also chosen to the First Team were juniors Riley Brown, right fielder, and Delane Gray, shortstop, and freshman pitcher Hannah Geneva. Sophomore pitcher Kyenne Wade was Fort Scott's second Honorable Mention pick.

Independence, the SEK runner-up, had the next-most selections with three on the First Team and two on the Honorable Mention list.

Indy's First Team players are Jordan Sutton, Lexie Wright and Shelby Corn. Chanute is represented by Sarah Hernandez and Jordan Hartman. Aubrey Kimbrough and Kristen Hennen were picked from Labette County. Rounding out the team are Pittsburg's Andie Casper, Parsons' Syvauna Hinman-Mitchell, and Coffeyville's Katherine Stringer.

Also on the Honorable Mention squad are Independence's Amanda Freeman and Baylee Allison, Chanute's Sarah Methvin and Ashton Cooper, Labette County's Molly Stevenson and Rachel Stevenson, Pittsburg's Mercedes Vogel and Alaura Short, and Parsons' Logan Shelton.

NOTES -- This season was just the second time in SEK history that the same school won the baseball and softball championships in the same season. Fort Scott also accomplished the feat in 1996. League baseball began in 1988 and softball began in 1991....