[Masthead] Overcast ~ 55°F  
High: 61°F ~ Low: 42°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

One incumbent elected to return as Fort Scott City Commissioner

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Two new faces will join the Fort Scott City Commission based on unofficial final election results late Tuesday night.

Leading the voting with 670 votes was Lucas Cosens, followed by JoLynne Stainbrook with 630 votes. Incumbent Sam Mason finished third in voting, bringing in 591 votes. Current Mayor Jim Adams, first elected in 2007, came in last with 524 votes, according to unofficial final numbers from the Bourbon County Clerk's office.

Those four candidates vied for three open seats on the five-member panel.

Cosens has said that as a city commissioner, one of his goals will be to work on upgrading historic buildings in the downtown area. Serving on the panel is an "honor and responsibility and one I would not take lightly," he said.

Stainbrook has emphasized community service, and has said she serves on several local boards. She feels governing bodies and taxpayers should work together and she would "like to be part of that."

Mason, a retired judge, has said he wants to "further the progress of the future of this community. We're moving slow, but sure, toward the future."

Cosens also said he ran for a spot on the commission "due to a desire to give back to the community."

Mason and Cosens both said the expansion of U.S. Highway 69 into four lanes will be a benefit to the area and good for growing economic development.

Stainbrook has said "it is important for leaders to work together and establish new ideas" and create additional jobs.

Cosens has also advocated for high-speed internet in the community and future expansion of the runway at the Fort Scott Municipal Airport.

Cosens and Stainbrook won four-year terms on the commission, while Mason earned a two-year term. City elections take place every two years with three seats up for grabs. All the seats are at-large positions and terms are staggered so not every commissioner is up for election at the same time.

Seats currently filled by commissioners Cindy Bartelsmeyer and Gary Bukowski will be up for election in 2015.

City Clerk Diane Clay said the commission as it stands will open the next city commission meeting on April 16. Commissioner Jeanie Parker, who did not run for re-election, will step down and new commissioners will take their seats.

Then, the commission will, as it does each year, re-organize and elect different positions such as mayor, president of the commission, a representative for the Bourbon County Economic Development Council (BEDCO), and a delegate for the Fort Scott Housing Authority.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: