[Masthead] Overcast ~ 65°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 47°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

School and college board elections coming up

Friday, December 28, 2012

Anticipating revenue cuts to school boards and community colleges across statewide and the special challenges those reductions might present, this spring's general elections might receive a little more attention than in the past.

Three positions are at stake in 2013 spring school board elections at both USD 234 Fort Scott and USD 235 Uniontown and three seats will also come up on Fort Scott Community College's six-member Board of Trustees.

Trustees' seats that are up for grabs are currently held by Chair Anne Colum, Vice-Chair Bernita Hill and Jim Fewins. Trustees serve four- year terms that are staggered, with elections every two years. Seats held by trustees Robert Nelson, Jim Sather and Mark McCoy will be contested in 2015.

At USD 234, the fourth spot, currently held by Ken Reinbolt, the fifth by Steve Floyd, and the sixth by Belynda Davenport are all up for election.

USD 234 position one occupied by Justin Meeks, position 2 by Michelle Hudiburg and position 3 by President Janet Braun and Vice President Jordan Witt's at-large position, will come open in spring 2015.

According to the Uniontown USD 235 website, seats up this spring include the fourth spot, currently held by USD 235 Vice President Doug Coyan, the fifth, by Eldon Luker and the sixth by current President Matthew Wood.

Position one, held by Lynne Oharah, Uniontown, two by Jason Sutterby, Savonburg, three by Matthew Simpson, Fort Scott, and the at-large seat held by Michael Shawn Wilkinson, Uniontown, will come up for contention in 2015.

If needed, a primary will be held Tuesday, March 5, with the general election taking place Tuesday, April 2. The seats in both districts are staggered, four-year terms.

As of Thursday, Bourbon County Clerk Kendell Mason said no one had filed, but she is in the process of preparing news releases to inform the public of the open seats.

Both USD 234 and 235 have three districts, with two representatives from each and one at-large position. Every two years, one seat in each district is contested.

Mason said the deadline for filing is Jan. 22 and application packets may now be picked up at the Bourbon County Courthouse. There is a $5 filing fee for school board candidates.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: