Letter to the Editor

Letter to the Editor

Friday, September 28, 2012

To the Editor:

The Bourbon County Arts Council's 25rd annual fundraiser, GARAGARAMA and Silent Auction, is over for another year. On behalf of the board of directors, I would like to thank the many people who made this event a great success.

To our donors who provided us with merchandise to sell and to our buyers who came and found just the item they'd been looking for -- thank you.

Special thanks to our local businesses who are asked every day to support projects in our community and said yes to supporting the arts with items for the Silent Auction: 7-Up Bottling, A'Bella'z, Big Sugar Lumber, Captured Images, Captured Images, Citizens Bank N.A., City State Bank, Country Cupboard, Dairy Queen, ENVY, Epps Seed Company, Family Video, Flowers by Leanna, Fort Scott Broadcasting, Fort Scott High School, Game Station Vending LLC, Gene's IGA, Gorman Animal Hospital, Great Plains Deli, Health for Life, Heidrick's True Value, Iron Star Antiques and Such, K&K Auto, La Hacienda Restaurant, Life + Style, Main Street Gallery and Gifts, Merl Humphrey Photography, McDonald's Restaurant, Nu Grille, Pumping Pete's, Radio Shack, Ruddick's Inc., Shepherd Team Auto, Shirt Shack, Sonic Drive In, Spoiled Brat Salon, Sweet Repeats, Rick and Tedena Tucker, The Bourbon County Review, The Bulb, Trainwreck Tees, Tractor Supply, UMB Bank, Union State Bank, Valu Merchandisers and Vintage Trunk Junk.

Thanks also to Hill Street Recycling for their services and Miss Jamie's for the financial backing.

And our great volunteers -- carrying, toting, sorting, pricing, selling, cleaning up -- the list goes on.

A special thanks to the spouse's and family of board members who were "volunteered" and spent several long days working for the cause.

Funds raised from this event support the Bourbon County Arts Council's art programs in the schools and in our community.

Everyone involved in this project can give themselves a pat on the back for supporting the arts in Bourbon County.

Debbie Anderson

President, Board of Directors