[Masthead] T-storm in Vicinity Heavy Rain Fog/Mist ~ 59°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Five 'Hounds named to All-KJCCC baseball team

Friday, May 25, 2012

Five members of Fort Scott Community College's baseball team recently received All-Jayhawk Conference-Eastern Division honors.

Pitcher John Means was named to the First Team. Third baseman Ryan Sugai made the Second Team while outfielder Cody Ball and pitchers Brett Swain and Travis Higgs were named to the Honorable Mention list.

John Martin of Coffeyville was named the division's Coach of the Year. Neosho County's Adam Giacalone was named Most Valuable Player while Cowley's Mike Parker was selected as the Freshman of the Year.

Giacalone, a first baseman and pitcher, is joined on the first team along with Means by Neosho County catcher Tyler Palmer and pitcher Matt Strahm, Johnson County second baseman Blake Sturgeon and outfielders Chad Shannon and Tory Stoffregen, Cowley shortstop Gadiel Baez and pitchers Derek Fogel and Garrett Bane, Allen third baseman Caleb Wilburn, Coffeyville designated hitter John Branum and pitcher Cole Webb, Highland outfielder Jeremy Monty, and Kansas City outfielder Shaun Williams.

The Second Team has, along with Sugai, Johnson County catcher Caleb Hallman, outfielder Tyrai Skeen and pitcher Nick Kolarik, Coffeyville first baseman Luke Slagel and outfielder Cole Webb, Kansas City second baseman Jake Woods, Allen shortstop Travis Stafford, outfielder Tim Lewis and pitcher Zack Mickens, and Neosho County outfielder Jordan Miller and pitchers Max Ising and Chance Sinclair.

Along with Ball, Swain and Higgs on the Honorable Mention list are Coffeyville catcher Tyler Beebe, second baseman Luiz Munoz, third baseman Adam Valencia and outfielder Robert Hoffman, Independence first baseman David DeWolfe, Kansas City first baseman Deal Long, Johnson County first baseman Michael Yeager, Cowley second baseman Griffith Roark, Labette second baseman Matt Crawley and outfielder Ricky Vanderpool, Neosho County shortstop David Bote and Highland outfielder Tyler Goldsberry.

The All-Region VI-Division I baseball team was also named. This team includes all of the KJCCC's baseball teams in both divisions except Dodge City, which plays at the Division II level. Means was the only Greyhound named, earning a position on the Second Team.

The First Team has Giacalone (as a first baseman), Sturgeon, Wilburn, Monty, Strahm, Hutchinson catcher Tanner Lubach -- who was also chosen the Defensive Player of the Year -- and pitcher Jake Heissler, Barton shortstop Frederico Castagnini, Pratt outfielder Skylar Angood and pitcher Ronald Mustain, Jr., Colby outfielder Austin Russell and Seward County designated hitter Kevin Domrzalski.

The Second Team has Means, Giacalone (as a pitcher), Palmer, Baez, Shannon, Stoffregen, Branum, Colby first baseman Brandon Wilson and second baseman Scott Jones, Hutchinson third baseman Tucker Cross, Barton outfielder Clayton Garland and Seward County pitcher Gavin Glanz.

There was no Honorable Mention list for the All-Region VI Team.

The All-KJCCC-East and Region VI-Division II-District D softball teams have also been named. No one from Fort Scott, which went winless this season, was named to either one.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: