[Masthead] Fair ~ 58°F  
High: 69°F ~ Low: 58°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

New scholarships created

Friday, May 18, 2012



Memorial Day, a day set apart each out of each year to honor the memory of those defenders of the Union who have passed to the Great Beyond, will again be properly observed in Fort Scott this year. Honorable A.W. Smith, pension commissioner for Kansas and one of the wellknown old soldiers of the state, has been secured to deliver the address at the courthouse yard early afternoon. The general committee is composed of John Glunz, W.A. Cormany, C.C. Crain, John Prichard and I.O. Peck. The committee for decorating the Soldiers Monument includes Mrs. Rumbaugh, Mrs. W.S. McDonald, Mrs. J.H. Richards, Miss Mary B. Miller, Miss Fannie McDonald and Mr. D.P. Bruce.



One couple will have a chance to enter the bonds of holy matrimony before the Rev. G.W. Cassidy at the regular evening services of the First Baptist Church next Sunday, without having to dig into the "housekeeping" funds for the usual minister's fee.

Announcement of the minister's offer was made at the church last week. Mr. Cassidy, whose home is in Wichita, will be at the Goodlander Hotel Saturday to interview anyone wishing to accept his invitation at the Sunday evening service. The free offer is in keeping with Mr. Cassidy's special sermon on the interweaving patterns of home and church life.

MAPLETON -- The annual birthday dinner for A.J. Ball, whose birthday May 15, was celebrated in the usual way Sunday in Ball's Hall. Mr. Ball felt very much at home there for the last 50 years he had been owner and manager. He is feeling fine and hopes to celebrate many more years.

Through an oversight, mention was omitted last week of the 20 units of work completed by Miss Eloyce Ball being the highest number ever achieved by anyone in the school. Miss Pauline Clayton held the previous record for Mapleton students with 18 1/2 units.



Superintendent Fred Campbell Jr. addressed the graduating class of Fort Scott High School. Campbell announced the initiation of three new scholarships created by 1961 FSHS graduate Ralph R. Willard, who donated $150,000 to the FSHS trust fund to begin the Kenneth Mosier Outstanding Debate Scholarship, the Lawrence J. Winchell Scholarship and Max and Jean Willard Scholarship. The Mosier Scholarship awards $2,500 to any four-year debater and forenser. The recipient of the award is chosen by FSHS principal and debate-forensic coach. Seniors Lisa Epps and Jill Maycumber shared the scholarship. Willard named the second scholarship after his grandfather. The Lawrence J. Winchell Scholarship presents $2,500 to the senior class valedictorian. However, the scholarship was split into $1,000 packages toward the Class of 1987's five valedictorians: Ralea Ames, Lisa Epps, Jill Hildebrand, Belinda Lyons and Mark Radom. The Jean and Max Willard Scholarship, named to honor Ralph Willard's parents, did not have a recipient this year -- $10,000 in installments to any student who is accepted at Harvard or Stanford universities.



In the Monopoly board game, when players pass go, they collect $200. A Fort Scott resident recently hit the jackpot by playing McDonald's Monoply game at McDonald's Restaurant, 224 S. Main. Lorna Carlton, 2013 Holbrook, was informed by McDonald's officials that she won $1,000.

Mrs. Carlton says she plans to use the money for minor home improvements and for travel.

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Darrell Rager, 102 S. Little, invite friends and relatives to a reception Sunday in observance of their parents' 35th wedding anniversary at the home of their daughter, Julie Ann Readinger, 1735 E. Oak.

Nell Dikeman
Memories spring eternal ...