[Masthead] Fair ~ 65°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 45°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Durossette, Hughes champs at Paola

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

PAOLA -- Jacob Durossette and Victor Hughes won their respective weight brackets at the Paola Invitational here Saturday. In all, Fort Scott High's grapplers won four medals and finished tied for fifth place in the 15-team field.

Durossette won the 132-pound class while Hughes was champ at 138. Jared Heckman finished second at 126 and John Hughes placed third at 152.

"Our three finalists wrestled well," Fort Scott head coach David Brown said. "Hughes made some quality improvements this weekend. Heckman had the opportunity in overtime to claim the championship but fatigue got the best of him."

Derby, a Class 6A school, won the team title with 173 points followed by Pittsburg with 136 and 6A Shawnee Mission East with 132. Great Bend, a 5A school, was fourth with 128 points. Fort Scott tied with Atchison County with 91 points.

Other Fort Scott results saw Alvin Metcalf end up 2-2 at 170 pounds, Dane Cummings finish 2-2 at 195, Tyler Sharp go 1-2 at 120, Cole Stewart finish 0-2 at 106, Cody Bunn go 0-2 at 160.

"It was a disappointing day with Metcalf and Sharp," Brown said. "(I) felt they didn't wrestle well. Cummings pulled out with a knee that was hurting so we hop that it minor."

The Tigers compete Thursday night in a Southeast Kansas Triangular at Labette County. Independence will also be there.

Complete team scores and Fort Scott results:


1. Derby 173, 2. Pittsburg 136, 3. Shawnee Mission East 132, 4. Great Bend 128, 5 (tie). Atchison County and Fort Scott 91,

7. Olathe North 67.5, 8. Kansas City Sumner Academy 62, 9. Paola 52, 10. Lawrence-Free State 46,

11. Atchison 39.5, 12. Topeka-Highland Park 39, 13. Basehor-Linwood 31.5, 14. Eudora 29, 15. Bishop Miege 15.


Cole Stewart, 106 (0-2, did not place)

Championship round 1: Bye.

Quarterfinal: Ryan DesLauriers, Great Bend, won by decision, 4-1.

Consolation round 2: Bye.

Consolation round 3: Bye.

Consolation round 4: Braden Dipman, wrestling unattached, won by decision 6-2.

Tyler Sharp, 120 (1-2, did not place)

Championship round 1: Bye.

Quarterfinal: Bye.

Semifinal: Brad Perkins, Oak Park, won by major decision, 10-2.

Consolation Semifinal: Chipper Jorns, Shawnee Mission East, won by decision, 4-1.

Jerad Heckman, 126, (2-1, 2nd)

Championship round 1: Bye.

Quarterfinal: def. Sam Riess, unattached, 10-0.

Semifinal: def. Maurice Jacobs, Lawrence-Free State, 3-1.

Championship match: Brett Cobb, Pittsburg, won by decision, 4-2 (OT).

Jacob Durossette, 132 (4-0, 1st)

Championship round 1: pinned Scott Shultz, unattached, 1:45.

Quarterfinal: pinned Caleb Gash, Great Bend, 1:30.

Semifinal: pinned Kevin Barker, unattached, :39.

Championship match: def. Jacob Wools, Pittsburg, 3-0.

Victor Hughes, 138 (3-0, 1st)

Championship round 1: Bye.

Quarterfinal: pinned Anthony Kotzias, Bishop Miege, 3:59.

Semifinal: def. Tyler Harris, Atchison, 7-2.

Championship match: def. Brady Heincker, Derby, 2-0.

John Hughes, 152 (4-1, 3rd)

Championship round 1: pinned Zach Rome, Shawnee Mission East, 3:18.

Quarterfinal: def. Chandler Ayer, Derby, 4-3.

Semifinal: Rory Haug, Olathe North, won by punfall, :59

Consolation semifinal: def. John Hopper, Basehor-Linwood, 6-0.

Third-place match: def. Ayer by forfeit.

Cody Bunn, 160 (0-2, did not place)

Championship round 1: Ryan Madrigal, Bishop Miege, won by major decision, 12-1.

Consolation round 1: Bye.

Consolation round 2: Kurt Weaver, Paola, won by pinfall, :59.

John Metcalf, 170 (2-1, did not place)

Championship round 1: pinned Andy Coutts, Atchison, 1:27

Quarterfinal: def. John Reuter, unattached, 5-3.

Semifinal: Jaysson Tansey, Kansas City-Sumner, won by decision, 6-5.

Consolation semifinal: Myles Stroud, Derby, won by decision, 1-0.

Dane Cummings, 195 (2-2, did not place)

Championship round 1: pinned Harley Burch, unattached, :53.

Quarterfinal: pinned John Perez, Kansas City-Sumner, 2:37.

Semifinal: Alex Beahm, Shawnee Mission East, won by injury default.

Consolation semifinal: Gabe Cleveland, Eudora, won by injury default.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: