[Masthead] Fair ~ 47°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 48°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

11 Tigers receive SEK football honors

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Following Chanute's elimination from the Class 4A football playoffs Friday night, the All-Southeast Kansas League Football Team has been released. Eight players from Fort Scott High School received honors in voting by league coaches.

Five Tigers were named to the First Team, all seniors. They are offensive lineman/linebacker Christian Tavenaro, running back/defensive back Jason Thorpe, running back/linebacker Dane Cummings, defensive end Cody McGehee and tight end/defensive back Luke Brown.

The only school with more First Team selections than the runner-up Tigers was league champion Pittsburg, which had six players named. They were seniors Jon Wimmer, quarterback/safety, Brock Bennett, lineman, and Marcus Striplin, running back/cornerback; juniors Anthony McNeely, fullback/linebacker, and Spencer Bernhardt, receiver/cornerback; and freshman Alex Barnes, linebacker.

Five players from Chanute was also chosen for the First Team: senior OL/DL Quinton Schooley, senior WR/DB Brandon Bell, senior punter Grant McMillan, junior QB Brock Gilmore, and sophomore kicker A.J. LaRocca.

Coffeyville had four picked: senior OL/DL Nash Nelson, junior QB/S Cory Turner, junior RB/CB Wesley Collins, and sophomore WR James Newton.

Parsons had three players named, all seniors: WR/DB Wes Krull, TE/DE Ivory Kelly and OL/LB Matt Martinez.

Three schools had two players picked. Independence's players were senior WR/DB Easton Julian and senior OL/DL Zach Snodgrass. Columbus' picks were senior WR/LB Tyler Elmore and senior DE Trevor McLaughlin. Labette County's honorees were senior RB Hunter Seibert and junior OL/LB Cole Reazin.

Iola had just one player chosen: SEK scoring champion Jerrik Sigg. The senior scored 26 touchdowns and 170 points in nine games to become the first Mustang to lead the SEK in scoring in what will be the last league season for his school. Iola will switch to the Pioneer League next year while Columbus will change membership to the Crawford-Neosho-Cherokee League.

Fort Scott's Second Team selections were senior tight end/defensive end Reed Ramsey, junior QB/DB Johnathan Stark and junior OL/DL John Metcalf.

FSHS Honorable Mention picks were senior offensive lineman/defensive lineman Daniel Durbin, senior wide receiver/cornerback Brady Fink and sophomore lineman Brendan Blackburn.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: