[Masthead] Fair ~ 67°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 59°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

Rienbolt finishes 3rd at State

Monday, October 31, 2011

WAMEGO -- Fort Scott High School sophomore Katren Rienbolt finished third in the Class 4A State Cross Country Meet here Saturday.

As a top-10 finisher, Rienbolt earned All-State honors in her first season of competition. She finished the four-kilometer course in a time of 15 minutes, 39.09 seconds.

The race winner was Pratt senior Cheyenne Becker, who turned in a time of 15:19.95. Becker finished third here last year and in second place in 2009. Freshman Mikala Heddin of Hesston was second in 15:32.42. There were 101 runners in the race.

Angel Vazquez won the Class 4A boys' race with a time of 16:30.47 over five kilometers. The highest-finishing runner from the Southeast Kansas League was Labette County's Drew Baum, who was sixth in 17:05.41.

Wamego won the boys' team title with Hugoton second and DeSoto third. LCHS finished sixth. Baldwin won its fifth consecutive girls' team title with Maize South taking second and Paola third. Chanute was the highest-finishing SEK school in 11th place. Baldwin has finished either first or second every season since 2004.

The State Class 2A meets were also held here with three participants from area schools entered.

Megan Leavitt, a sophomore from Jayhawk-Linn, finished in 29th place in the girls' race with a time of 17:28.95. Uniontown sophomore Kelli Wilkinson was 66th in 19:02.02. There were 99 participants.

Jenna Farris, a junior from Lincoln, defended her individual crown as she finished in 15:40.35. Shawnee Maranatha Academy won the team title with Ellinwood second and Elbing Berean Academy third.

Pleasanton junior Zach Willis was 85th in the boys' race as he turned in a time of 20:45.73. There were 102 boys in the race, which was won by Plainville senior Brady Johnson in 16:29.63. Johnson finished second here last season.

Ellinwood won the boys' team title followed by Stanton County and Jefferson County North.

NOTES -- The Class 1A meet was held here as well. Scandia-Pike Valley won the boys' crown while Bishop Seabury Academy of Lawrence claimed the girls' title. Greeley County (Tribune), the defending champion on both sides, finished second as a team in both meets this season....

Classes 6A, 5A and 3A were held at Rim Rock Farm near Lawrence. Girls team champs were Shawnee Mission Northwest in 6A, Wichita Bishop Carroll in 5A and Douglass in 3A. Boys' champs were Shawnee Mission South in 6A, Carroll in 5A and Wichita Independent in 4A....

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: