[Masthead] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 57°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Reinbolt wins SEK championship

Saturday, October 15, 2011

IOLA, Kan. -- Fort Scott sophomore Katren Rienbolt, in her first year of competition, won the varsity girls' race in the Southeast Kansas League Cross-Country Meet here Thursday, becoming the first Tiger to do so since Heather Williams did so in consecutive seasons, 2004 and 2005.

Rienbolt, who has won all but one race she's entered this year, ran four kilometers in 15 minutes, 59 seconds. Maddison Dispensa of Chanute was second in 16:22 and defending champion Jocelyn McMillen-Hale, also of Chanute, was third in 16:29.

Fort Scott's Robert Sellers finished 13th in the varsity boys' race, covering 5K in 18:34. Kyle Altic finished 40th in 22:68. The winner was Drew Baum of Labette County, clocking in at 16:51, just two seconds ahead of teammate David Greer.

Chanute won both team titles, becoming the first school to do so since Labette County accomplished the feat in 1997 and 1998. The sweep of team titles has been accomplished just five times since girls' competition began in 1980.

Chanute finished with 26 points in the girls' race followed by Pittsburg with 57, Independence 78, LCHS 84 and Iola 123. The Blue Comets scored 42 points in the boys' race followed by LCHS with 47, Iola 54, Indy 111, Parsons 119 and Pittsburg 147. Fort Scott was not eligible for team honors because the Tigers did not have the minimum number of runners in either race.

Skyler Cruse of Fort Scott finished in 15th place in the boys' JV race, turning in a time of 21:44. Ashton Mason finished 11th in the girls' JV event in 32:31.

Iola won the boys' team title with 33 points followed by LCHS with 35 and Chanute with 75. Chanute was the only school eligible for team honors on the girls' side.

Fort Scott's next outing will be the Class 4A Regional Meet October 22 at Eisenhower Road Course in Iola. The girls' race will begin at 4 p.m. with the boys to follow at 4:30.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: