[Masthead] Fair ~ 54°F  
High: 61°F ~ Low: 44°F
Thursday, Oct. 20, 2016

NJCAA reports 40 FSCC signees; N.C. prep QB said to be coming

Saturday, February 12, 2011

FORT SCOTT -- The National Junior College Athletic Association website has a list of 40 high school seniors who have signed football letters of intent with Fort Scott Community College for next season.

That count, if accurate, can be boosted to at least 42 as Drew Bryant and Griffin Knopp joined Fort Scott High School teammate Kelsey Adams on that list in a signing meeting at the FSHS media center Friday afternoon (related photo, Page 1B).

Also signing with FSCC are Pleasanton seniors Reid Hein and Skyler Martin.

There could also be a 43rd signee. Quarterback Garrett Brown of Asheville (N.C.) Erwin was said to have committed to Fort Scott, according to an article posted on the Asheville Citizen-Times website.

Brown set a single-season record for passing yards by a Buncombe County quarterback with 3,429 yards last fall and was responsible for 55 touchdowns.

Brown was named All-Western North Carolina Player of the Year and Mountain Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year. His Erwin team was 10-4 last season.

Former Erwin tailback Martese Jackson was redshirted at FSCC last season. The Citizen-Times article also said that Erwin defensive back-wide receiver Shaquan Curenton has also signed with Fort Scott.

A reason cited in the article for Brown's choice was that FSCC had 28 players sign with four-year colleges in 2010.

Two more players not on the NJCAA list are Christian Hosey and Keaton Turner of Labette County High School. According to LCHS head coach Shane Holtzman, the pair were to have signed with FSCC Thursday had school been in session in Altamont.

If the Asheville and LCHS reports are accurate, that raises the total to 45 players signed. And there is a possibility that other players have not signed because of the weather or have not yet made their final decision, which could swell the ranks even more.

The list of FSCC signees as reported on the NJCAA website:


ASHEVILLE (N.C.)-ERWIN: Shaquan Curenton.

CLEVELAND (Ohio)-JOHN MARSHALL: Tamaine Chappel, Oscar Graves.

CRISP COUNTY (Clinchfield, Ga.): Vantavious Williams.

COFFEYVILLE:Robert Brinker, Kaman Holt.

COLUMBUS: Brandon Alberty, Shawn Jacobberger, Owen Jordan, Al Leonard.

COLUMBUS (Ga.)--CARVER: Antonio Carter.

DeSOTO: Aaron Folmer.

FORT SCOTT (a): Kelsey Adams.

GALENA: Codie Pery.

KANSAS CITY-WASHINGTON: Blackie Enloe, Clayton Young, Jr.

LANSING: Zachary Hammer.

MEMPHIS (Tenn.)-WESTWOOD: Jeff Ruffin.

NESS CITY: Jason Ellis.

OLATHE NORTH: Joseph Scruggs.

OSWEGO: Zackaray Garcia.

PAOLA: Skylar Hawkins, Spencer Trumbley, Anthony West.

PARSONS: James C. Jackson.

PLEASANTON: Reid Hein, Skyler Martin.


SHAWNEE MISSION EAST: JaQuan Brunt, Grif Gans.



ST. PAUL (Minn.)-JOHNSON: Jared Gillespie.

STOCKBRIDGE (Ga.)-TOWERS: Rashaud Lewis.

TOPEKA-HIGHLAND PARK: Dominique Bronson, Anthony Curtis, Antwan Roberts.


WALNUT (Calif.): Aubrey Coleman.

(a) -- Drew Bryant and Griffin Knopp have also signed but were not on the NJCAA's list.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: