[Masthead] Fair ~ 53°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Eight Greyhounds earn honors

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Eight members of Fort Scott Community College's football team have received All-Jay-hawk Conference honors.

The only First Team honoree was sophomore punter Chase Tenpenney, who was second in the conference with an average of 38.8 yards per kick.

Sophomore wide receiver Malcom Moulton and freshman guard Ryan Kincaid were named to the Second Team. Moulton finished second in the conference in receptions per game (5.1, 46 total) and receiving yards per game (84.1, 757 total). He also scored 6 touchdowns.

Two more offensive linemen were named to the Honorable Mention team -- sophomore Jeff Johnson, a Fort Scott High School graduate, at tackle, and freshmen Garrett Ericson at center.

Fort Scott finished third in the conference in rushing offense, gaining an average of 175.7 yards per game.

Despite beginning the season as the backup and playing in only six of Fort Scott's nine games, sophomore quarterback Spenser Bennett also earned Honorable Mention status. Bennett finished sixth in passing with 93.8 yards per game. He completed 40 of 91 passes for 563 yards with 3 touchdowns. His passer efficiency rating of 91.4 was also sixth in the conference.

Rounding out Fort Scott's honorees are the only two defensive players named. Melvin Payne, a sophomore who wasn't on the active roster at the beginning of the season but became a dominant player after he was activated, and sophomore defensive end Davon Coleman, were also named to the HM list.

The entire First Team is listed below as space constraints prevent the Tribune from listing all the Second Team and HM players.



Quarterback: Zach Mettenberger, Soph., Butler.

Running back: Stephen Houston, Fr., Independence.

Fullback: James Baker, Fr., Independence

Center: Ben Fulghum, Soph., Butler.

Guards: Lamar Mady, Soph., Butler; Nick Chartain, Soph., Independence.

Tackles: Ryan Schraeder, Soph., Butler; Spencer Hilley, Soph., Butler.

Tight end: Connor Combes, Soph., Butler.

Receivers: Marcus Kennard, Soph., Butler; Cordarrelle Patterson, Fr., Hutchinson; Quinton Patton, Soph., Coffeyville.


Ends: Cornellius Carradine, Soph., Butler; Meshak Williams, Soph., Hutchinson.

Tackles: Sylvester Williams, Soph., Coffeyville; Dennell Wesley, Soph., Butler.

Linebackers: Mark Spaight, Soph., Garden City; Mike Jeune, Soph., Independence; Talris Brown, Soph., Coffeyville.

Cornerbacks: Victor Daniels, Soph., Butler; Dorrian Roberts, Soph., Hutchinson.

Safeties: Angelo Hadley, Soph., Butler; Darren Myles, Soph., Hutchinson

Special Teams

Kicker: Jeremy Lynn, Soph., Hutchinson.

Punter: Chase Tenpenny, Soph., Fort Scott.

Return specialist: Cordarrelle Patterson, Fr., Hutchinson.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: