[Masthead] Fair ~ 72°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 57°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Nine Tigers named to All-SEK team

Friday, November 12, 2010

Nine members of Fort Scott High School's football team were named to the All-Southeast Kansas League football team.

Four Tigers were named to the First Team including seniors Griffin Knopp, wide receiver and punter, Tony Jackson, defensive end, and Drew Bryant, offensive line. Also selected was junior linebacker Christian Tavernaro.

Three more were placed on the Second Team: senior lineman Josh Durossette, senior quarterback Trevor Swim and junior running back/linebacker Dane Cummings.

Senior running back/defensive back Jaret Thorpe and senior offensive lineman Austin Bailey were chosen as Honorable Mention players.

League champion Pittsburg had six players chosen to the First Team, five of whom were seniors: Quarterback Jordan Elliott, safety Scott Martin, offensive lineman Jon Nichols, center Jake Letner and linebacker Chris Boor. Junior receiver Joe Wimmer was also named.

Runner-up Independence had also had six chosen to the First Team led by running back Matt Bromley, who broke how own league scoring record in finishing the season with 34 touchdowns and 208 points (which includes two 2-point conversions). His 29 touchdowns last season set a record and his 180 points was tied for first.

Also making the First Team from Indy were running back/linebacker Andre Ysusi, quarterback/safety Peyton Botts, kicker Garrett Webster and lineman Delon Knight, all seniors. Junior receiver Easton Julian was also a First Team pick. Webster led the SEK in scoring from kicks with 33 extra points and a field goal for 36 points.

Chanute had four players chosen including both its running backs, senior Eric Bowman and junior Jared McComb, who became the first SEK teammates to score 20 or more touchdowns in a single season. Bowman finished with 25 TD's while nine playoff scores put McComb at 23. Bowman and McComb were the 12th and 13th players in SEK history to score 20 or more touchdowns in a single season.

Also named from Chanute were senior defensive end Ethan Kepley and junior offensive tackle Quintin Schooley.

Columbus is represented by senior linebacker Brandon Alberty and Chase Leonard and junior linebacker/receiver Tyler Elmore. Coffeyville seniors Cameron Craig, as a receiver, and Daniel Rosson, at an offensive lineman, were also honored.

Labette County had two selections in senior quarterback/defensive back Keaton Turner and senior receiver/linebacker Christian Hosey.

Parsons senior lineman D.J. Ball and Iola junior receiver/linebacker Jerrik Sigg round out the First Team.

Other Second Team picks, by school, were:

* -- Chanute: Austin Richard, Sr., LB; Mitchell Hale, Sr., DB; Alec Haight, Sr., WR.

* -- Coffeyville: Jacob Meyer, Sr., WR; Wesley Collins, Soph., RB.

* -- Columbus: Taylor Spear, Sr., WR; Gavin Houser, Soph., DE.

* -- Independence: Zac Snodgrass, Jr., OL/DL; T.J. Reed, Jr., WR/DB; Dustin Oliver, Jr., LB.

* -- Iola: Charles Apt, Sr., QB/S.

* -- Labette County: Hunter Seiber, Jr., RB.

* -- Parsons: Damonte Taylor, Sr., WR/DB; Wes Krull, Jr., QB.

* -- Pittsburg: Brad Markley, Sr., OL/DL; Matt Clark, Sr., WR/DB; Kevin Harvey, Sr., TE; Marcus Striplin, Jr., RB; Broc Bennett, Jr., OL.

Receiving Honorable Mention were:

* -- Chanute: Griffin Williams, Sr., WR; Ethan Back, Sr., WR; Ross Debler, Sr., OL.

* -- Coffeyville: Luke Finley, Sr., LB/OL.

* -- Columbus: Dustin Morris, Jr., WR; Trevor McLaughlin, Jr., DE.

* -- Independence: Cory Wright, Sr., RB/S; Cameron Christian, Sr., LB; Shane Moore, Jr., OL/LB.

* -- Iola: Marcus Sullivan, Sr., RB/LB.

* -- Labette County: Trevor Nash, Sr., OL/DL; Cole Traxson, Jr., WR/S.

* -- Parsons: James C. Jackson, Jr., WR/DB; Kaeland Thompson, Sr., DL.

* -- Pittsburg: RaShawn Davis, Sr., RB/DE.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: