[Masthead] Fair ~ 66°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 47°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Three area teams draw No. 1 seeds in Sub-States

Friday, October 22, 2010

The volleyball team from Fort Scott, Uniontown and Jayhawk-Linn high schools have all drawn No. 1 seeds for their Sub-State tournaments that will be held Saturday.

Fort Scott is the top seed at the Louisburg Class 4A Sub-State, Uniontown at the Northeast Arma Class 3A Sub-State and Jayhawk-Linn at the Yates Center Class 2A Sub-State. Meanwhile, Pleasanton will be the No. 4 seed at the St. Paul Class 1A-Division I Sub-State.

Two courts will be in use at Louisburg with Fort Scott (24-12) starting things off at 2 p.m. against No. 8 Prairie View (0-13). The Tigers have beaten the Buffalos three times this season, all in sweeps. They met Sept. 9 at Iola, Sept. 16 in Fort Scott and last weekend at the Anderson County Tournament.

At the same time on the other court, No. 7 Iola (8-24) will face No. 2 Spring Hill (24-14) on the other side of the bracket.

At around 3 p.m., No. 5 Anderson County (15-19) faces No. 4 Paola (15-17) and No. 6 Osawatomie (10-20) takes on No. 3 Louisburg (22-16).

The semifinals will begin around 4:15 with the Anderson County-Paola winner facing the Prairie View-Fort Scott winner and the Osawatomie-Louisburg winner taking on the Iola-Spring Hill winners. The final will most likely begin around 5:30.

The Tigers have faced each team except Paola and Spring Hill this season. Fort Scott split with Anderson County last week at the Bulldogs' home tournament, losing in pool play but winning in the championship match. Fort Scott defeated Iola in a non-league match on Sept. 2 and in a Southeast Kansas League match on Oct. 14. Both took place in Iola.

Fort Scott defeated Osawatomie in three sets while losing to Louisburg in four at a home quadrangular on Sept. 16.

Uniontown takes a 32-5 record into the Northeast Sub-State and has faced each team in the field except Cherryvale during the regular season. The Eagles will start the tournament at 2 p.m. against No. 8 Erie (5-29), which they beat in three sets at a match in Girard on Aug. 31. At the same time on the second court, No. 7 Cherryvale (10-21) will face No. 2 Northeast (31-5).

At approximately 3 p.m., No. 5 Riverton (21-15) will face No. 4 Frontenac (20-13) and No. 6 Galena (11-22) will face No. 3 Southeast (24-11).

Sometime between 4 and 4:15 p.m., the Erie-Uniontown winner faces the Riverton-Frontenac winner on one court while the Cherryvale-Northeast winner squares off against the Galena-Southeast winner on the other. The championship match should start near or after 5:30.

The Eagles defeated Frontenac in two sets in the Uniontown Invitational on Oct. 9. They've beaten Riverton twice -- in three sets at Riverton Sept 16 and in two at the Uniontown tourney.

Southeast fell to the Eagles in two at the Cherryvale tourney while Galena lost in two to Uniontown at Riverton on Sept. 16.

Uniontown and Northeast have met three times this season. The Eagles won in two sets in the finals of the Three Rivers League tournament in Pleasanton on Aug. 28. The Vikings defeated the Eagles in three at Uniontown on Sept. 21. Uniontown swept Northeast in the finals of the Uniontown tourney on Oct. 9.

The Vikings' victory at Uniontown helped propel Northeast to its first league volleyball title since winning the Crawford-Neosho-Cherokee League championship in 1998.

Jayhawk-Linn's Sub-State bracket at Yates Center will be a bit unusual because there are nine schools entered. Normally, Class 2A has 64 schools. But Madison and Hamilton, a pair of Class 1A schools, have a co-operative agreement in volleyball and the combined number of students in their schools would make them a Class 2A school, so the combined team is moved up in class. A 2A team is not moved down in return. Due to this move up, Class 2A has 65 volleyball teams.

Tournament host Yates Center, the No. 9 seed at 6-26, will face No. 8 Humboldt (8-24) at 1 p.m. in what amounts to a "play-in" match. The winner of that match faces Jayhawk-Linn (25-11) at 2 p.m. at the same time, No. 7 Marmaton Valley (9-26) will face No. 2 Howard-West Elk (25-13).

At about 3 p.m., No. 5 Sedan (11-19) faces No. 4 Oswego (13-22) and No. 6 Madison/Hamilton (8-21) will play No. 3 Pittsburg Colgan (12-19).

The semifinals will take place sometime between 4 and 4:15 with the championship likely to be held around 5:30 p.m.

Pleasanton (12-21) will take on fifth-seeded Crest (12-21) at 1 p.m. in the first round of the six-team St. Paul 1A-I Sub-State. The Blu-Jays have beaten Crest in both meetings this season, both held in Pleasanton.

The next match will have No. 6 Chetopa (2-32) against No. 3 St. Paul (15-14) at about 2 p.m. That will be followed by the first semifinal between the Crest-Pleasanton winner and top seed Cedar Vale/Dexter (26-8). After that, the other semifinal has No. 2 Southern Coffey County (19-15) facing the Chetopa-St. Paul winner. The finals should start between 5 and 5:30 p.m.

The next match on each court at all Sub-States will begin 20 minutes after the conclusion of the previous match.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: