[Masthead] Mostly Cloudy ~ 57°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 45°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Teachers honored by School of Education

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

LAWRENCE -- The School of Education at the University of Kansas is honoring 684 Kansas teachers from 122 school districts with 25 or more years of service to education, mostly in Kansas schools.

"The importance of good teaching is emerging once again as the key for strengthening America's schools," said Rick Ginsberg, dean of the School of Education. "Kansans are lucky to have a great teaching force, and recognizing those Kansas teachers who have dedicated 25 years to working with the state's children is a great honor for KU."

Three teachers have 40 or more years of service. They are: Rita Herl, Andover, 41 years, library media specialist at USD 205 Bluestem; George Stewart, Leon, 40 years, secondary social studies teacher at USD 205 Bluestem and Cherie Nigh, Topeka, 40 years, secondary family and consumer science teacher at USD 501 Topeka.

Twelve more were honored for more than 35 years of service in education. They are: Don McKeown, Wichita, secondary social studies, USD 260 Derby, 39 years; Diana Johnson, St. John, secondary English, USD 351 Macksville, 39 years; Karen Lynn Squire, Joplin, Mo., elementary first-grade, USD 404 Riverton, 39 years; Deloris Embry, Topeka, middle-school language arts, USD 501 Topeka, 38 years; Kim Claycamp, Pratt, elementary-middle school counselor, USD 351 Macksville, 37 years; Jeanette Kuhns, Topeka, elementary music, USD 501 Topeka, 37 years; Nancy Sramek, Topeka, middle-school reading, USD 501 Topeka, 37 years; Ronald Arnold, Leon, middle-school social studies, USD 205 Bluestem, 36 years; Debra Gerweck, Falls City, Neb., secondary work study, Brown County Kansas Special Education Interlocal 615, 36 years; Sarah Meadows, Topeka, elementary numeracy, USD 501 Topeka, 36 years; Gary White, Burlingame, elementary and middle-school speech pathologist, Three Lakes Educational Cooperative 620, 36 years; Ronald Wrampe, Leon, secondary school principal, USD 205 Bluestem, 36 years.

Three teachers were recognized for 35 years of service. They are: Linda Prigel, Osawatomie, elementary kindergarten, USD 288 Central Heights; Phyllis Schmidt, Topeka, K-12 teacher for visually impaired, USD 437 Auburn-Washburn; Beth Myers, Auburn, middle and secondary special education, USD 501 Topeka

KU's School of Education annually invites Kansas school district officials to identify educators who are eligible for recognition. Certificates are issued based on responses from individual districts; some school districts do not participate in KU's recognition program.

Teachers who received certificates are listed online by name in order of USD or Interlocal District number, district name, total years of teaching and years of service in Kansas and, if available, position, K-12 level and hometown city. Go to news.ku.edu/2010/april/12/teachers.shtml.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: