[Masthead] Mostly Cloudy ~ 53°F  
High: 65°F ~ Low: 47°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

11 Tigers on All-SEK teams; Bingesser, Gray coaches of year

Thursday, November 12, 2009

Southeast Kansas League coaches announced their picks for All-SEK in football, volleyball and soccer earlier this week. In addition to the 11 players from Fort Scott High School who received all-league honors in their sports, two FSHS coaches were named Coach of the Year in their sports.

Carol Bingesser received the honor from her volleyball coaching peers after leading the Tigers to the Southeast Kansas League championship and a 24-14 record.

David Gray was honored by the soccer coaches after leading Fort Scott to its first-ever winning season, 11-5, and second place in the SEK.

Soccer was where the greatest number of Tiger athletes were honored. Chris Herman, Chris McAllister and Josh Buller were voted to the First Team while Max McAllister and Griffin Hulbert were voted to the Second Team.

Four players from league champion Independence were also on the First Team: Tyler Sprague, Austin Schroeder, Connor Cushing and Cameron Schickle. Also honored were Pittsburg's Alex McNay and Josh Wilde, Columbus' Nick Holman and Coffeyville's Mark Hall.

Also on the Second Team were Indy's Marcus Wright and Wes Goodrich; Pittsburg's Mercedes McGuire, Henrique Gebarra and David Garcia; Coffeyville's Max Manley, Diego Martin and Carlos Oslo; and Columbus' Joe Tillman.

Volleyball, despite its success, only had two players chosen. Sophomore Mallory Shelton was a unanimous selection to the First Team, where she was joined by Jessica Bruington of Independence, Jessica Wade and Kristina Willis of Pittsburg, Ali Aylward of Chanute, Karlee Lehman of Labette County and Marlee Cares of Parsons, all seniors.

Senior Sammi Therwhanger was picked to the Second Team. Also picked were Chanute's Kameron Braman, LC's McKenna Brittan, Columbus' Danielle Crain, Pittsburg's Kelly Clark -- all seniors -- and Iola sophomore Kendra Taiclet.

Volleyball Third Team picks were all juniors: Michelle Knopick of Independence, Katey Crane of Coffeyville, Erin Forbes of Parsons, jessica Anderson of Columbus and Sandi Wilson of Independence.

Football had four picks. Gary Floyd, a senior, was chosen as a wide receiver to the 30-member First Team. Griffin Knopp, a junior, was picked as a Second Team safety. Seniors Blake Cowen and Chris Archie were named to the Honorable Mention list, Cowen as a lienbacker and Archie as a running back.

Also on the First Team, by school:

* -- Chanute: Matt Bollig, T.J. Walls, James Smith, Quenton Schooley, Jared McComb and Alec Haight.

* -- Columbus: Matt Crain, Damion Tinnin, Dale Bennett, Lewis Kellogg and Tank Burns.

* -- Coffeyville: Ethan Cordray, Cameron Craig and Daniel Rosson.

* -- Independence: Matt Bromley, who broke the all-time SEK record for touchdowns in a season, scoring 29 this year, and tied the record for most points scored, 180; Johnny Ainsworth, Damone Hatch and Peyton Botts.

* -- Iola: Kyler Thompson, Chris Heffern and Connor Frazell.

* -- Labette County: Brennan Green and Davey Brown.

* -- Parsons: Tarial Johnson and Jordan Brenn.

* -- Pittsburg: Keenan Soles, Jordan Elliott, Jace Erwin and Chris Boor.

The rest of the Second Team:

* -- Chanute: Ethan Kepley, Damen Hartwig, Mason Johnson, Ross Debler and Cory Henshall.

* -- Columbus: Chase Leonard, Bob Richards and David Lloyd.

* -- Coffeyville: Aaron Stansburg and Blake Parker.

* -- Independence: Brandon Stein, Andre Ysusi and Demonta Clark.

* -- Iola: Marcus Sullivan and Charles Apt.

* -- Labette County: John Hambleton and Cameron Sale.

* -- Parsons: James E. Jackson.

* -- Pittsburg: Blake Wilson, Dalton Schoonover and Jon Nichols.

And the rest of the Honorable Mention list:

* -- Chanute: Austin Richard.

* -- Columbus: Taylor Spear, Wade Robinson, Brandon Alberty.

* -- Coffeyville: Bryan Adams.

* -- Independence: Easton Julian, Kyler King and Cameron Christian.

* -- Iola: Seth Walden and Shane Snavely.

* -- Labette County: Keaton Turner and Dakota Booth.

* -- Parsons: Tevin Johnson.

* -- Pittsburg: Jack Wimmer and Danny Phalen.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: