Three Rivers League picks football, volleyball teams

Thursday, November 12, 2009

The Three Rivers League released it's all-league teams for 11-man football, 8-man football and volleyball earlier this week.

Volleyball champion Uniontown saw five players chosen. Senior Abbie Smith, who signed Thursday morning with Pittsburg State University, was one of two unanimous choices on the First Team along with Crest senior Amanda Strickler.

Jacy Ermel, a Uniontown sophomore, was also picked along with St. Paul juniors Morgan Westhoff and Jessica Tuck and Chetopa senior Myiesha Ingram.

Uniontown juniors Jessie Camac and Tiffany Poyner and Pleasanton senior Kim Robinson were picked to the Second Team. They are joined by Chetopa senior Rachel LaPee, Altoona-Midway senior Kim Myres, St. Paul senior Allison O'Brien and Marmaton Valley junior Cheyanne Miller.

Uniontown senior Jessica Schaaf and Pleasanton junior Johnnea Saulsberry were chosen to the Honorable Mention list. Joining them are Crest senior Melissa Honn and junior Ashley Catt, St. Paul senior Kennedee Borum, Chetopa senior Emily Moses, Oswego senior Jessica Bates, junior Rachael Green and sophomore Kinzie Nesbitt, Marmaton Valley senior Alysha Westhoff and Altoona senior Lyndy Gatlin.

Eleven-man football has only three teams but gives its players honors nonetheless. Uniontown players chosen for the First Team include offensive guard Matt Maloney, receiver/defensive back Ben Dixon, defensive end Tyler Hall and linebacker Ty Clayton.

Pleasanton's picks were defensive back Tyler Myrick, linebacker Dillon Roberts and offensive tackle/defensive end Aaron Loggins.

Oswego, which finished the season at 10-1, got the majority of the First Team picks. They were center/linebacker Logan Spore, guard/defensive tackle Zach Campbell, offensive tackle/defensive tackle Zach Garcia, receiver Hunter Cline, running back/defensive back/return specialist Damon Trotnic, running back/kicker Nick Billingsly, quarterback/ defensive back/punter Lane Martin and tight end/linebacker Michael Bullard.

Uniontown's only Honorable Mention pick was Maloney as a linebacker. Pleasanton had linebacker Dakota Kern, defensive tackle Skyler Martin and Roberts at offensive guard.

Making Honorable Mention for Oswego were Dustin White at offensive guard, Brandon Bates at offensive tackle, Caleb Horn at running back and defensive end and Ryan Schenker at defensive end.

There were no unanimous selections for 11-man football.

Crest, as the league 8-man champion, took 11 spots on the 8-Man First Team, two of them unanimously.

There were a total of seven unanimous picks: Skyler Houk of Marmaton Valley as a defensive lineman and a receiver; Bryan Newton of Crest, D.J. Vitt of St. Paul and Logan Booth of Marmaton Valley, all at running back; Michah Smith of Crest, Luke Schibi of St. Paul and Shawn Storrer of Marmaton Valley, all at linebacker.