[Masthead] Fair ~ 64°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

FSCC receives Player, Coach of Year honors

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Fort Scott Community College's football team received Jayhawk Conference post-season accolades at a meeting of league coaches in El Dorado Monday.

The Greyhounds, conference champions for the first time since 1974, were the recipient of both the Offensive Player of the Year and the Coach of the Year Awards.

Jasmin Hopkins, a sophomore tailback from North Carolina, was named the 2009 KJCCC Offensive Player of the Year. Hopkins has rushed for 1,577 yards (157.7 yards per game), which is the second-highest average in the NJCAA. He has also scored 16 touchdowns rushing and one on a kickoff return.

"Jasmin has shown all year that he was the best running back in the league and possibly in the country, he is well deserving of this award and I am very proud of him," FSCC head coach Jeff Sims said during his weekly radio show Monday evening.

Sims received Coach of the Year honors but pointed out that the success of the Greyhounds this season is a credit to the entire staff. He likely would have preferred that the entire staff receive the award.

"This coaching staff has done a great job this year and they deserve the credit for what we have done this year," Sims said. "They work hard and get the players ready every week."

The FSCC coaching staff includes offensive coordinator/offensive line coach Curtis Horton, wide receiver coach Aaron Hosack, defensive coordinator James Lott, special team coordinator Eddie Brown, defensive line coach Sean Cherico, linebacker coach Garrett Cox, and secondary coach Todd Worley.

The Greyhounds are 10-0 for the first time since 1973 when they won their first 10 games before losing to Mesa (Ariz.) in the Wool Bowl. The currently hold the nation's longest winning streak -- 11 games going back to last season -- after Rochester Tech (Minn.) had a 15-game streak broken by Central Lakes in the Minnesota championship game last week. Their current No. 2 ranking in the NJCAA/jcfootball.com poll is their highest since 1973.

Two weeks ago, in the final game of the regular season, the Greyhounds defeated Butler, 14-10, at Frary Field. That was their first victory over the Grizzlies since 1986.

The All-Jayhawk Conference First Team offense was loaded with Greyhounds who have worked to make their unit third in the country in rushing offense and 10th in the country in total offense. They lead the conference in both of these categories.

In addition to Hopkins at running back, wide receiver CJ Fondren, tackle Jermarcus "Yoshi" Hardrick, guard Chris Duggins, and fullback Brad Terron received First Team honors for their season performances.

Tackle Anthony Garrett and quarterback Dominique Davis received Second Team honors on offense. Guard Cody Moore and running back Justin Woods both received Honorable Mention status.

Hardrick and Terron made the All-Conference squad last year as second teamers and Hopkins was named to the honorable mention team in 2008.

Linebacker LaVonte David was the lone First Team defensive player for the Greyhounds. David has 98 tackles on the season and leads the nation with 20 tackles behind the line of scrimmage. David is a repeat First Team performer.

"LaVonte is a special player," Sims says. "He has done everything that we have asked of him the last two years without ever complaining or slowing down. He is truly a great football player and a even better person, and I have been blessed to have coached him."

David was runner-up in the league's Defensive Player of the Year award that went to Butler defensive end Scott Smith.

"I really felt LaVonte should had won the league's defensive player of the year but he lost by just a few votes,' Sims said. "Smith from Butler is a great football player, but I feel LaVonte showed on the field that he was the best."

Second Team defensive team honors went to defensive end Frank Bryant, linebacker Andre Clark, cornerback Omar Leftwich, and safety Jamel Johnson.

Defensive end Zach Bowers received Honorable Mention honors.

Kicker Luke Halsey received Honorable Mention honors for his placekicking performance. Halsey, who is a Fort Scott High School alum, has been nearly perfect this season as he has been successful on 44 of 45 extra-point attempts. Halsey was named a Second Team pick last season.

Fort Scott will look to win the Region VI Playoffs for the first time in school history this weekend as they entertain Butler in what is being billed as the "Rematch" by the El Dorado media.

Game time Sunday at Frary Field is 1:30 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: