[Masthead] Fair ~ 79°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 72°F
Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2016

Tiger tennis hosts tourney

Friday, October 3, 2008

Lauren Caulfield returns a shot by Labette County's Alahna Broadway during a No. 1 singles match at the Fort Scott Tournament Thursday afternoon. Broadway won the match, 8-0.
(Scott Nuzum/Tribune photo)
Fort Scott High School's tennis team hosted a four-team tournament Thursday afternoon as they prepared for Saturday's Southeast Kansas League Tournament.

Independence, the defending league and State champion, won the team title with 12 points. Labette County was second with seven points. Columbus scored two points to take third.

The four Independence entrants lost only three games combined as each one -- Bailey Conner in No. 1 singles, Brianna Hilger in No. 2 singles, Kelsey Mayes/Sammi Mayes in No. 1 doubles and Lexi Dent/Kayla Steinle in No. 2 singles -- went unbeaten in the tournament.

Taylor Bailey lobs a shot back over the net during a No. 1 doubles match against Independence Thursday during the Fort Scott Tournament. Bailey was teamed up with Kalia Dancy for the day.
(Scott Nuzum/Tribune photo)
Lauren Caulfield played No. 1 singles for the Tigers. Conner won her match against Caulfield, 8-0. Labette County's Alahna Broadway took an 8-1 win and Columbus' Josie Frietag won by an 8-1 score.

Kalia Dancy and Taylor Bailey played No. 1 doubles for Fort Scott. They fell 8-0 to the Independence team, 8-0 to Labette County's Kyla Smith/Katie Anderson and 8-3 to Columbus' Bobbi Shanks/Shaylee Thomas.

Sammi Carr and Ashlyn Baugher played No. 2 doubles for the Tigers. They lost to the Indy duo, 8-0, Labette's Kelli Kietzman/Chelsea Shults, 8-1, and Columbus' Kelsey Hill/Cookie Robinson, 8-4.

Fort Scott did not have anyone entered in No. 2 singles due to injuries and KSHSAA season limits.

The SEK Tournament will begin at 9 a.m. Saturday in Pittsburg. Columbus will be unable to attend, so this will be an eight-team tournament without the "play-in" matches that usually have to be held between the No. 8 and No. 9 seeds.

Also, post-season assignments were announced earlier this week. The Tigers will attend the Parsons Class 4A Regional Tournament on Oct. 9. Chanute, Columbus, Iola and Parsons have also been assigned there.

The top four finishers in the Regional will go on to Sub-State play at Independence on Oct. 11.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

Related subjects