[Masthead] Overcast ~ 44°F  
High: 49°F ~ Low: 35°F
Sunday, Dec. 4, 2016

Nine from area receive academic all-state honors from Kansas Volleyball Association

Thursday, May 15, 2008

TOPEKA -- The Kansas Volleyball Association released its 2007 All-Academic Team Tuesday afternoon with several Fort Scott and Uniontown players receiving honors.

Fort Scott juniors Brittany Bingesser and Kori Page Rienbolt and Uniontown sophomore Abbie Smith received first team honors. Fort Scott senior Ashley Cavin and junior Shelby Nafzger and Uniontown senior Riley Stephens, junior Kennda Phillips and sophomores Rayma Ridge and Taylor Rathbun were named to the honorable mention list.

To be eligible for honors, varsity letter winners must have a minimum 3.75 grade-point average based on a four-point scale during the first semester of the 2007-08 school year. In all, 514 players from 100 Kansas high schools received honors. The first team included 267 players while 247 received honorable mention recognition.

Honorees were recognized as one team rather than split into teams from Kansas classes 6A through 1A.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

Related subjects